Feigning Diligence

It’s October and here I am, excuses in hand and apologies for months of neglect. I’ve been busy in other things–in addition to my photography (NSFW), I’ve also launched an Etsy shop called Saint Drusilla.

Guess how many hours of CW teen dramas this took me!

Guess how many hours of CW teen dramas this took me!

It’s mostly knitted goods right now, but I’ve been busily adding to my stock, drafting patterns, making things, shopping for notions, photographing products, and working up compelling ad copy. If you’ve ever seen me around town/at some kind of NaNoWriMo write-in or party and wondered about my comically oversized scarves and accessories, chances are I made them.

Me, pretending I can wear anything light colored without ruining it (did I mention these are washable)

Me, pretending I can wear anything light colored without ruining it (did I mention these are washable)

These look so professional until you learn i cut them out individually with scissors.

These look so professional until you learn i cut them out individually with scissors.

So I’m juggling a season of halloween portraits, handcrafting, general life stuff, and now NaNo prep! As a result my thoughts are really scattered, and some days I throw my hands in the air and decide to make bread instead (spoiler: it’s an excuse to run the oven and hang in the warmest room of the house).

But onto writerly crafts and NaNo prep.

While some people I know are researching Irish estates and islands and calling it work, I’ve been obsessively rewatching Black Sails on Starz and trying to decode the weird and wonderful world of tumblr fan fiction writers. In the fifteen years since I last engaged in a fan fiction community (remember geocities? Me too.), a lot has changed, developed, and solidified. AUs, canon, non-canon pairings, content and trigger warnings; this is not the world fifteen year old me knew. Words seem to have totally new meanings, and I’ve spent long hours hunkering in a scalding bath wondering what the fuck a mun is. And a drabble.

Upsettingly, much of the Black Sails fic I’ve read in the last few weeks is far and away better than some actual published books I’ve encountered; these people, whoever they are, need to quit their day jobs and find a way to make shipping Vane/Eleanor a paying gig because they’re killing it (also shipping is a thing I understand now).

In my sillier drunk moments I’ve toyed with the idea of doing smutty pirate fan fiction for this year’s NaNoWriMo, if only for the excuse to talk to everyone about sexy pirates for a month. Sober, I’m inclined toward something more constructive–progress on the world in which my most complete novel is set, with eyes toward finally polishing that and submitting it to agents or publishing houses or a trash can near you.

Here are some front-runner topics:

  • An all-boys academy/university in which steampunk engineering and mad science create havoc and rich boys are prank-playing snobs
  • Short stories/vignettes set in each major location of my fictional world, to get a better feel of the places and their inhabitants.
  • Fairytales/mythology for this fictional world and its fictional cultures
  • Psychopath twins on a murder rampage

Can you tell I’m really grasping here? Are you doing NaNoWriMo this year? Have you begun preparing yet? What’s your process, if you’re a planner? Where do you look for inspiration if you’re a pantser? Shout out to Philly’s excellent NaNo group–please send help (and soup in a bread bowl).

6 thoughts on “Feigning Diligence

  1. Kat says:

    Oh god, I am so glad someone else has dived back into the fanfiction world. I’ve become addicted again and it’s been somewhat of a help in getting me functioning in the writing world again- and absolutely yes do some of them write better than novels I’ve read! (Also, drabbles are useful little blurbs when ideas just don’t want to be a fully-formed story.)

    That said…. NaNoWriMo has me stumped this year. I don’t know what to write and am drawing a complete blank. I’m debating going the fanfic route just to have *something* coming out.

    Like

  2. Alisa Hathaway says:

    How excited am I to see your face in my blogreader again? SO EXCITED. Also, how hilarious is the term shipping in the context of Black Sails fanfic… because, you know, they’re on ships… I’ll just be here in my corner.

    Like

Say Something

